John Chrastka

John Chrastka is a founder and executive director of EveryLibrary, the first Super PAC for libraries, and the EveryLibrary Institute, a public policy and tax policy think tank for libraries. Since 2012, EveryLibrary has provided pro-bono support to 121 library communities with ballot measures and tax referendums, helping win more than $392 million in stable tax funding. He is a former Board President of the Berwyn (IL) Public Library and RAILS, the Reaching Across Illinois Libraries System. Prior to EveryLibrary, he was a partner in AssociaDirect, an association consultancy, was Director for Membership Development at ALA, and a co-founder of the EdTech startup Classmap. He was recognized by Library Journal in 2014 as a Mover & Shaker.

Lisa Shaw

Lisa has worked for the Maine State Library since 2016 as the Rural and Small Libraries/Workforce Development Specialist. Prior to that, she was Library Director for the Caribou [Maine] Public Library and Assistant Director for the Mark & Emily Turner Memorial Library in Presque Isle, Maine. Lisa also worked for the Maine Department of Labor from 2002-2006. Lisa currently serves as Board President for the Bangor Area Homeless Shelter, Board Secretary for NAMI Maine, as a member of the Bangor Planning Board, as a member of ALA’s Public Libraries and Workforce Development Initiative [LibsWork], and as Co-Chair for the ARSL Advocacy Committee. Lisa lives in Bangor, Maine, with her husband, daughter, and two cats.


Becky Spratford

Becky Spratford (MLIS) is a Readers' Advisor in Illinois specializing in serving patrons ages 13 and up. She trains library staff all over the world on how to match books with readers through the local public library. She runs the critically acclaimed RA training blog RA for All. She is under contract to provide content for EBSCO's Novelist database and writes reviews for Booklist and a horror review column for Library Journal. Becky is a 20 year locally elected library trustee and a board member for the Reaching Across Illinois Library System. Known for her work with horror readers, Becky is the author of The Reader's Advisory Guide to Horror, Third Edition (ALA Editions, 2021). She is a proud member of the Horror Writers Association and currently serves as the Association's Secretary and organizer of their annual Librarians' Day. You can follow Becky on Twitter @RAforAll.

Nancy Sylvester

Nancy Sylvester is a Certified Professional Parliamentarian (CPP) and Certified Professional Teacher of Parliamentary Procedure (CPP-T) through the American Institute of Parliamentarians as well as a Professional Registered Parliamentarian (PRP) through the National Association of Parliamentarians. She has served as the Parliamentarian for the National Association of Parliamentarians multiple times, thus serving as the parliamentarians’ parliamentarian.

Nancy is the author of the books The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Robert’s Rules and The Guerrilla’s Guide to Robert’s Rules as well as handbooks on parliamentary procedure and effective meetings. Nancy has also been published multiple times in both the Parliamentary Journal and the National Parliamentarian.  

Nancy is a Professor Emeritus of Speech at Rock Valley College with a Masters Degree in Communications from the University of Michigan and a Bachelors' degree in Communications from Indiana State University. She is the 1999 Rockford Area Chamber of Commerce Athena Award Winner and the 2001 Alta Hulett Award for the Professions recipient.

John Thompson

John Thompson has served as the IFLS Library System Director since January 2007 and has consulted on over 30 building projects in the IFLS area. John has provided consulting, training and workshops for library boards and staff on a variety of library administration topics including building projects. His building project consulting has included evaluating current library configurations, developing space needs assessments, assisting with architect selection, developing and/or assisting with possible layouts, providing ideas for capital campaigns, and helping answer questions throughout the construction phase. He was awarded the WLA/DEMCO Librarian of the Year Award in 2021.